Skip to content

January 17, 2013

Puzzling Mix

Two days have passed since the collaborative #etmooc experience. I'm catching up: The weather is much improved and I have a reliable Internet connection with which to move data. The point of this post is the cMOOC (connectivist Massive Open Online Course) as described during the #etmooc Orientation Week Activity.

A few days before #etmooc began I read in a research paper where elaborative interrogation and self-explanation were found to be highly effective learning techniques (Dunlosky, Rawson, Marsh, Nathan & Willingham, 2013). The self-explanation part I understood right off: framing what I read or experience within what I already know. I'm coming to understand, finally after a couple years groping for meaning, that the elaborative interrogation piece comes (best for me) from connecting with others of like-mind.

So there you are: dawning understanding of how research, educational technology and social media come together to foster learning.

More later.

References

View original post 44 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

